Plato And The Bible

Just wondering what everyone else thinks…

Genesis 50.20 says “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good to bring about this present result…”

Plato said (Apology) “For which reason, also, I am not angry with my condemners, or with my accusers;  they have done me no harm, although they did not mean to do me any good.”

Paul said in Philippians (1.21) “For me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”

Plato said (Apology) “Now, if death be of such a nature, I say that to die is gain; for eternity is then only a single night.  But if death is the journey to another place and there, as men say, all the dead abide, what good, O my friends and judges, can be greater than this?” (OK, admittedly not the greatest translation.  Probably better is “[regarding death] I say, for my part, [it is] gain.”)

Two questions:

Do you think Plato read Genesis or at least was familiar with the narrative of Joseph?

Paul was almost certainly familiar with Platonic philosophy, but did he actually read Plato?

Just wondering…

Leave a Reply

